Frustration

Some days diabetes just gets the better of you.

Tonight I was feeling motivated and was looking forward to working out. After picking out a cute outfit and lacing up, even setting a temp basal (I usually set mine to 40%), I was ready to hit the treadmill and work up a sweat!

After arriving I unpacked all my gear: headphones, towel, water bottle, headband.. The last thing was to check my sugar for the final go ahead. So I bust out my handy Accu-Check Mobile and see a 4.4 glaring back at me. Crap. I quickly check my pump to see if there is any active insulin on board. To my disappointment 2.25 pesky units are still hanging around, threatening a low any minute now.

I riffle through my bag to see what hypo snacks I’ve brought with me and find a slightly soggy packet of sultanas. I quickly shovel them down and take a seat on the gym’s couches.

I am now faced with the reality that I will not be working out tonight. Despite my determination, doing so would undoubtedly result in multiple low’s during/post workout and dwindling snacks sent me begrudgingly back out the door.

For me, the most frustrating part was that I had to sit on a couch, watching people with perfectly good pancreases shed their unwanted calories while I was forced to consume more.

My goal this week is to work on resilience, so diabetes, listen up: you will not get the better of me!

Leave a Reply

